Starting on Smogon Doubles - Peaked 1635 on the Ladder

Hey folks! I recently started playing the Smogon Doubles metagame and I'd like some advice on my team. I think it's doing pretty well for a rookie team, but it's all thanks to the contribution of Smogon's Doubles Players. I lurked a bit on the Doubles forum and read a bunch of analyses so, yeah, building this team would be impossible without you guys. I'm sorry I can't think of names in particular to thank (I was busy reading the informative posts rather than usernames!), but if you posted recently on the Doubles forum and/or made a Doubles analysis, chances are I read your post and it helped me, so thanks. :)

Still, I'm having some issues with the team and I'd like advice from other players. Here we go!

Team Building process

First of all, Doubles is a metagame where Hitmontop truly shines. Being my favorite Pokémon ever since GSC, I just could not miss this chance to use it. There was no other option for my team's first pokémon!

Next on, I thought it would be a good idea to make a rather easy to use team, seeing how I'm new to this metagame and all. My lurking showed me that Charizard Y was a big threat on doubles, with its Drought-boosted Heat Wave and good coverage moves.

Following the "ease of use" idea, Heatran was the next obvious choice. This is a point where lurking on the forums was of great influence in building my team. Beforehand, I'd never even consider using Heatran in doubles because "duh, EQ weak!". However, my lurk time showed that Heatran can truly shiny with its plentiful resistances and, if necessary, Wide Guard protection from Hitmontop. It also gets a boost from Charizard's Drought, so it seemed like a logical choice.