VGC HailRoom - First (Kinda) VGC Team

Image by me, original Mega Abomasnow and Jellicent artwork by Ken Sugimori

While I have been playing Pokémon since May 2009 and competitively since November 2010, I’m not very good at doubles, having only dabbled it in a year ago. Recently, I’ve been playing some double matches using my rough and quickly built VGC ’14 team, I realized that it is terrible and I don’t really know what I am doing. So I was looking up team ideas when I saw one that intrigued me: HailRoom. Since weather is what made me a competitive player in the first place (Sand was good to me in the weather wars), I thought it was worth a try. That and I do like Mega Abomasnow, so I thought it would be worth a try.

Team Preview

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Abomasnow @ Abomasite
Ability: Snow Warning
Level: 50
EVs: 252 HP / 4 Def / 252 SpA
Quiet Nature
IVs: 0 Spe
- Blizzard
- Giga Drain
- Ice Shard
- Protect

Partially the reason I built this team. With Base 30 Speed after Mega Evolving, not much is going to outspeed it once Trick Room is up. Also, with a large 132 Sp. Atk stat and a STAB 110 BP spread move with perfect accuracy in Blizzard, not much is going to survive. Add to that decent bulk, it can usually survive the turn Trick Room is set up while knocking things out with Blizzard. Giga Drain is another great STAB that also heals it up from pre-Trick Room damage and Ice Shard is to pick off faster/weakened foes.

Jellicent @ Sitrus Berry
Ability: Cursed Body
EVs: 252 HP / 100 Def / 156 SpD
Sassy Nature
- Trick Room
- Will-O-Wisp
- Recover
- Scald