Monotype Bug Team

Hello, and welcome to my monotype Bug team. Bugs have always been a sore spot to me. I started playing in generation 1 and that was not a very good first impression to them. I built this team in a attempt to familiarize myself with them and put up a good fight. All comments are welcome.

Galvantula @ Focus Sash

Ability: Compound Eyes

Shiny: Yes

EVs: 4 Def / 252 SpD / 252 Spe

Timid Nature

- Sticky Web

- Toxic

- Thunderbolt

- Bug Buzz

Galvantula is my most used lead. I try to capitalize on its speed and Focus Sash to set up Sticky Web and in its other moves to cripple the opponent with Toxic or deal high damage with Thunderbolt or Bug Buzz. However it is very frail and usually does not last more than 3 strikes.

Forretress @ Leftovers

Ability: Sturdy

EVs: 252 HP / 4 Atk / 252 Def

Relaxed Nature

IVs: 0 Spe

- Rapid Spin

- Toxic

- Stealth Rock

- Gyro Ball

Forretress serves as a Rapid Spinner user and is capable of adding Stealth Rock to the field on top of Sticky Web. However it is the opposite of Galvantula. It has no way to attack efficiently but is resistant. Sometimes Gyro Ball is a surprise attack.

Araquanid @ Assault Vest

Ability: Water Bubble

EVs: 248 HP / 252 Atk / 8 SpD

Adamant Nature

- Scald

- Facade

- Lunge

- Liquidation

I chose Araquanid to this team as a concession to the fire types that some time appear. It is better than I thought it would be thanks to its ability which damps damage and its Stabs are very useful.

Heracross-Mega @ Heracronite

Ability: Skill Link

EVs: 248 HP / 252 Atk / 8 SpD

Adamant Nature

- Rock Blast

- Pin Missile

- Bullet Seed

- Arm Thrust

Heracross is one of my favourite pokémons in this team. I chose this set for versatility instead of the most advised one with Swords Dance and Close Combat. All its move are multi-hitters and I tried. The set is inconsistent: when it works, it works very well. When it does not work, Heracross is useless.

Scizor @ Leftovers

Ability: Technician